UNIVERSITY OF NORTH BENGAL

List of Holidays for the year 2017 for the Non-Government Affiliated Colleges*

Particulars	No. of Day(s)	Day(s) of the week	Date(s)
New Year's Day	1	Sunday	1 st January
Birthday of Swami Vivekananda	1	Thursday	12 th January
Birthday of Netaji	1	Monday	23 rd January
Republic Day	1	Thursday	26 th January
Shree Panchami	1	Wednesday	1 st February
Dol Jatra	1	Sunday	12 th March
Holi	1	Monday	13 th March
Good Friday	1	Friday	14 th April
Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar	1	Friday	14 th April
Bengali New Year's Day	1	Saturday	15 th April
May Day	1	Monday	1 st May
Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore	1	Tuesday	9 th May
Id-Ul-Fitre	1	Monday	26 th June
Bhanu Jayanti #	1	Thursday	13 th July
Janmastami	1	Monday	14 th August
Independence Day	1	Tuesday	15 th August
Id-Uz-Zoha	1	Saturday	2 nd September
Mahalaya	1	Tuesday	19 th September
Birthday of Gandhiji	1 .	Monday	2 nd October
Birthday of Gurunanak	1	Saturday	4 th November
Fateha Duaz Daham	1	Saturday	2 nd December
Christmas Day	1	Monday	25 th December

SECTIONAL HOLIDAYS

1. Easter Saturday (for Christians only)	1	Saturday	15 th April
2. Baisakhi (for Sikhs only)	1	Saturday	15 th April
3. Mahabir Jayanti (for Jains only)	1	Sunday	9 th April
4. Buddha Purnima (for Buddhists only)	1	Wednesday	10th May
5. Sab-e-Barat (for Muslims only)	1	Friday	12 th May
6. Karam Puja	1	To be notified later on	
7. Chhat Puja	1	Thursday	26 th October

For Vacation Staff (other than Hill Colleges)

Summer Recess*	45 days	Monday – Wednesday	17 th April to 31 st May
Puja Vacation	28 days	Tuesday – Monday	26 th September to 23 rd October
Winter Recess	6 days	Tuesday – Sunday	26 th December to 31 st December

Hill Colleges

		the state of the s	
Puja Holidays	10+2 days	Tuesday – Saturday	26 th September to 7 th October
Dewali Holidays	7 days	Wednesday – Tuesday	18 th October to 24 th October
	61+10	Catandary Catandary	16 th December, 2017 to 24 th
Winter Vacation .	days	Saturday – Saturday	February, 2018

* The List is provisional and subject to modifications as per Govt. Orders, if issued subsequently.

Only for Colleges within the Darjeeling District.

* Summer recess for the Law Colleges: 1st June to 30th June.

Registrar(Offg.)